SXSW Awards Prize Winners

Posted by Greg on Mar 19, 2018 in Music

Despite the racially-motivated bombings happening around the city, SXSW once again riveted Texas’ capital with a slew of new acts making proverbial ripples across the blogosphere. NPR championed Soccer Mommy, the nom-du-plume of 20-year-old Nashville Songwriter Sophie Allison. For the sixth year in a row, the judges panel handed out the Grulke Prize, an effort to honor precocious and inspiring new acts. The winner of the Grulke Prize for U.S. Act’s was Los Angeles-based quartet Starcrawler, while the Non-US Act prize went to critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Jade Bird of London, England. 1970s rocker Todd Rundgren received the Grulke Prize for Career Act. The judge’s panel for the Grulke Prize includes music critics, industry executives and SXSW staff. Past winners include Anderson .Paak, Leon Bridge, Courtney Barnett, Future Islands, Haim and CHVRCHES. Head here for more details about the Grulke Prize.

Copyright © 2019 Step Inside This House All rights reserved. Theme by Laptop Geek.